59 States Sign Nuclear Weapons Prohibition Treaty

United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres. UN Photo/Jean-Marc Ferré (file)
United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres. UN Photo/Jean-Marc Ferré (file)

The UN Secretary-General António Guterres has welcomed the first anniversary of the adoption of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW).

“The Treaty’s adoption on 7 July 2017 by 122 States demonstrated the strong and legitimate international support that exists for a permanent end to the threat posed by nuclear arms,” Mr. Guterres said.

To date, 59 States have signed the TPNW and 11 have ratified it. Once 50 States have ratified the TPNW it will enter into force, becoming an important element of the nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation regime.

The United Nations remains committed to the total elimination of nuclear weapons as its highest disarmament priority, a UN Spokesman said.

Support Independent Fearless Journalism

In today's media world controlled by corporates and politicians, it is extremely difficult for independent editorial voices to survive. RMN News Service has been maintaining editorial freedom and offering objective content for the past over 7 years despite enormous pressures.

In order to serve you fearlessly in this cut-throat world, RMN News Service urges you to support us financially with your donations. You can choose the amount that you want to donate from the options given below. 

You also can select any of the Payment Methods:

Offline Donation: To know our bank details for online bank transfer and payment by cheque in Indian rupees.

PayPal: To make payment by Credit / Debit Card or PayPal account.

Select Payment Method
Personal Info

Donation Total: $10.00

RMN News

Rakesh Raman