Narendra Modi Is the New Prime Minister of India

Narendra Modi Is the New Prime Minister of India

Narendra Modi Is the New Prime Minister of India

Narendra Modi has been sworn in as the 15th Prime Minster (PM) of India in an official ceremony held in the country’s capital New Delhi today, May 26.

Modi, who has been the Chief Minister of India’s Gujarat state, led his Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to victory in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections.

In the election results announced on May 16, BJP had defeated the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA). And as the leader of the BJP, Modi has become the PM, replacing the Congress PM Manmohan Singh.

[ Also Read: Will Narendra Modi be Disastrous for India? ]

In a message on the PM’s website, Modi addressed the people, saying, “On 16th May 2014 the people of India gave their verdict. They delivered a mandate for development, good governance and stability. As we devote ourselves to take India’s development journey to newer heights, we seek your support, blessings and active participation.”

Along with Modi, 45 leaders were sworn in as the ministers in the new government that is formed in India.

This article is part of our editorial initiative called REAL VOTER that covers political developments in India. Click here to visit REAL VOTER.

In the picture above: Narendra Modi (L) meets India’s President Pranab Mukherjee (R)

Related posts:

Visiting Keukenhof Gardens in Holland
Why Sonia Gandhi Wants to Protect Chidambaram
Fern Mallis to Cover Fashion Week on SiriusXM
Poets to Attend Dodge Poetry Festival
Penelope Cruz Stars in Nespresso Ad Campaign
Kate Hudson to Unveil Ann Taylor Collection
Twelfth Season of Ask This Old House on PBS
Regal Premieres The Stream with Mario Lopez
Hindu Rulers Support Shady Hindu Event in India
What Is the Purpose of Democracy?
Custom Content Services