Om Prakash Rawat Appointed Chief Election Commissioner of India

Every Indian Vote Counts. Photo: ECI
Every Indian Vote Counts. Photo: ECI

The President of India Ram Nath Kovind has appointed the senior-most Election Commissioner, Om Prakash Rawat, as the Chief Election Commissioner in the Election Commission of India (ECI).

Rawat will assume the charge of office of the Chief Election Commissioner with effect from the Tuesday, 23rd January, 2018.

He will succeed Achal Kumar Joti consequent upon his demitting the office of the Chief Election Commissioner today, 22nd January.

[ Voter Education for Lok Sabha Election 2019 in India ]

Further, the President also has appointed Ashok Lavasa, a retired IAS officer, as the Election Commissioner with effect from the date he assumes the office.

Photo courtesy: ECI

Support Independent Fearless Journalism

In today's media world controlled by corporates and politicians, it is extremely difficult for independent editorial voices to survive. RMN News Service has been maintaining editorial freedom and offering objective content for the past over 7 years despite enormous pressures.

In order to serve you fearlessly in this cut-throat world, RMN News Service urges you to support us financially with your donations. You can choose the amount that you want to donate from the options given below. 

You also can select any of the Payment Methods:

Offline Donation: To know our bank details for online bank transfer and payment by cheque in Indian rupees.

PayPal: To make payment by Credit / Debit Card or PayPal account.

Select Payment Method
Personal Info

Donation Total: $10.00

RMN News

Rakesh Raman