Govt Releases New Guidelines for National Teachers’ Awards

स्कूल की बिल्डिंग स्कूल नहीं है। स्कूल का अर्थ तो स्कूल की पढ़ाई है, जो किसी स्कूल में नहीं हो रही। Photo by Rakesh Raman
स्कूल की बिल्डिंग स्कूल नहीं है। स्कूल का अर्थ तो स्कूल की पढ़ाई है, जो किसी स्कूल में नहीं हो रही। Photo by Rakesh Raman

Govt Releases New Guidelines for National Teachers’ Awards

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be interacting with the recipients of the National Teachers’ Awards today, 4th September (the eve of National Teachers’ Day), and the Vice President will be conferring the awards on them at a function on 5th September, Teachers’ Day.

This year, the Ministry of Human Resource Development has revised the guidelines for the selection of Teachers for National Awards (2017).

According to a government statement, the basic premise now is that the new scheme should be transparent, fair, and reward demonstrated excellence and performance and has been inspired by recent innovations in major national awards.

[ Let Us Save the School Education of Delhi ]

The features of the new guidelines are as under:

  1. From now onward, all regular teachers will be eligible to apply and no minimum years of service is required. This has enabled meritorious young teachers to apply (under the earlier scheme, only teachers with minimum 15 years of service were eligible).
  2. For the first time, all teachers could directly apply and nominate themselves for the award (this feature did not exist in the earlier scheme).
  3. Self-nominations from teachers were invited online on a web portal developed by the Administrative Staff College of India (ASCI).
  4. Also, 6692 applications were received from teachers from all over the country.
  5. The number of awards has been rationalized to 45. This has been necessary to restore the prestige of the awards (under the earlier scheme the number of awardees had crossed 300).
  6. Out of all the applications received, every district selected the 3 best teachers and forwarded these to the committee under the State / UT Secretary of Education who made a shortlist. A total of 152 nominations were finally received from all States, UTs, and organizations.
  7. The final selection was done by an independent jury. The criteria adopted was to select those teachers who had shown innovation in their work and had added value to the school and to their students.
  8. These nominated teachers gave a presentation before an independent jury comprising a senior educationist, during 3rd week of August, 2018. This ensured that all of them were given an opportunity to place before the jury their contribution and the work done by them.

Support RMN News Service for Independent Fearless Journalism

In today’s media world controlled by corporates and politicians, it is extremely difficult for independent editorial voices to survive. Raman Media Network (RMN) News Service has been maintaining editorial freedom and offering objective content for the past more than 12 years despite enormous pressures and extreme threats. In order to serve you fearlessly in this cut-throat world, RMN News Service urges you to support us financially with your donations. You may please click here and choose the amount that you want to donate. Thank You. Rakesh Raman, Editor, RMN News Service.

RMN News

Rakesh Raman