Meet the Voters for Punjab Assembly Election 2017

Punjab Election 2017
Punjab Election 2017

In Punjab, as per information provided by the Chief Electoral Officer, there are two Recognized State parties: Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Among the Assembly Constituencies (AC), by area, the smallest is 61 – Ludhiana Central and the largest one is 55 – Dakha.

By size of the Electorate, the smallest is 26 – Bholath AC with 1,28,761 electors and the largest being 66 – Gill AC with 2,37,399 electors.

Size of Electorate


Number of Assembly Constituencies


< 100000 NIL
100000 150000 17
150000 200000 91
> 200000 9
Total 117

The electors who have received the Electoral Photo ID Card (EPIC) are further categorized by sex. They are evenly constituted by Males and Females.

[ Also Visit: Save Punjab – Punjab Election News 2017 ]

Further, there are 380 electors reported from the ‘Third Gender’ in the electorate and there are a total of 281 NRI voters and 1,50,564 voters from the services.There are a total of 380 electors documented from the ‘Third Gender’.

Age and Sexwise Composition of Electorate: 

Age Male Female Third Gender Total
1825 years 1744922 1156960 122 2902004
2540 4038177 3597854 164 7636195
4060 3266641 3146337 69 6413047
> 60 1390570 1408123 25 2798718
Total 10440310 9309274 380 19749964

The election for the 117-member Punjab Legislative Assembly will be held on February 4, 2017.

Photo courtesy: Chief Electoral Office (CEO) Punjab

Support RMN News Service for Independent Fearless Journalism

In today’s media world controlled by corporates and politicians, it is extremely difficult for independent editorial voices to survive. Raman Media Network (RMN) News Service has been maintaining editorial freedom and offering objective content for the past more than 12 years despite enormous pressures and extreme threats. In order to serve you fearlessly in this cut-throat world, RMN News Service urges you to support us financially with your donations. You may please click here and choose the amount that you want to donate. Thank You. Rakesh Raman, Editor, RMN News Service.

RMN News

Rakesh Raman