Congress and Samajwadi Party Join Hands to Contest UP Election

Rahul Gandhi of Congress and Akhilesh Yadav of Samajwadi Party
Rahul Gandhi of Congress and Akhilesh Yadav of Samajwadi Party

After days of dithering, finally Congress and Samajwadi Party (SP) formed an alliance today for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh (UP) Assembly election.

As per the seat-sharing agreement, Congress will contest 105 seats while the other 298 seats will stay with SP in the 403-seat Assembly.

In the last election of 2012, SP had won the majority of the seats and formed the government in UP with Akhilesh Yadav as the chief minister.

[ Also Visit: Save Punjab – Punjab Election News 2017 ]

Now the alliance between Congress and SP is expected to benefit both the parties in the state where the other major parties are Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) of Mayawati and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Congress said in a statement today that the alliance with SP is supposed to defeat the communal forces, referring to the communal plank on which BJP positions its election strategy.

Meanwhile, Trinamool Congress leader and Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has extended full support to the alliance between Congress and UP.

The UP election will be held from February 11 to March 8, 2017 in 7 phases.

Photo courtesy: Congress

Support RMN News Service for Independent Fearless Journalism

In today’s media world controlled by corporates and politicians, it is extremely difficult for independent editorial voices to survive. Raman Media Network (RMN) News Service has been maintaining editorial freedom and offering objective content for the past more than 12 years despite enormous pressures and extreme threats. In order to serve you fearlessly in this cut-throat world, RMN News Service urges you to support us financially with your donations. You may please click here and choose the amount that you want to donate. Thank You. Rakesh Raman, Editor, RMN News Service.

RMN News

Rakesh Raman