UNESCO Invites Applications for International Literacy Prizes

International Literacy Prizes. Photo: UNESCO
International Literacy Prizes. Photo: UNESCO

UNESCO is calling for applications and nominations for the 2018 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes, which this year will award outstanding programs and individuals who promote literacy around the world within the theme of ‘Literacy and Skills Development’.

Since 1967, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. Over 485 projects and programs undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have already received recognition and support for their work.

Through two prestigious Prizes, UNESCO supports effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies to close the literacy gap of approximately 750 millions of people.

UNESCO distinguishes between two Literacy Prizes which are given to five laureates:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards), was established in 1989 and is supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to programs that focus on the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

[ Education Dilemma Persists in the Schools of Delhi ]

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards), was established in 2005, and is supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China. This Prize recognizes programs that promote adult literacy, especially in rural areas and for out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Each of the prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.

Governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals can apply. All applications should be submitted to nominating entities, such as the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the program, or an NGO that is in an official partnership with UNESCO.

[ चमेली की पढ़ाई बताए दिल्ली के स्कूलों की सच्चाई ]

Applications can be submitted via the online platform, detailed information about the application and nomination process is to be found on the UNESCO Literacy Prizes’ website.

The deadline for submitting applications for nominations: 5 June 2018 (midnight, Paris time). The deadline for nominating entities to submit their nominations to UNESCO: 17 June 2018 (midnight, Paris time).

The nominations will be assessed by an independent International Jury, composed of six experts on the basis of the selection criteria. Based on the recommendations of the International Jury, the Director-General of UNESCO will select the finalists to award the Prizes on 7 September 2018 at the occasion of International Literacy Day.

Support RMN News Service for Independent Fearless Journalism

In today’s media world controlled by corporates and politicians, it is extremely difficult for independent editorial voices to survive. Raman Media Network (RMN) News Service has been maintaining editorial freedom and offering objective content for the past more than 12 years despite enormous pressures and extreme threats. In order to serve you fearlessly in this cut-throat world, RMN News Service urges you to support us financially with your donations. You may please click here and choose the amount that you want to donate. Thank You. Rakesh Raman, Editor, RMN News Service.

RMN News

Rakesh Raman