Meet L’Oreal Women in Science

L’Oreal USA honored the recipients of the 2013 L’Oreal USA Fellowships For Women in Science, at an awards ceremony. It was announced Friday.

Celebrating its tenth year, the program is a national initiative that annually recognizes and rewards five outstanding U.S.-based post-doctoral women researchers.

“For ten years, we have supported 50 post-doctorate female scientists. I am so proud to be a part of a company and initiative that supports innovation and merits women’s contribution to the sciences,” said Suzie Davidowitz, senior VP, L’Oreal USA and For Women in Science Ambassador.

This year’s awards ceremony was held at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City. The evening’s program welcomed honorary guests and keynote speaker, FCC Commissioner, Jessica Rosenworcel, who addressed and awarded this year’s winners.

“Programs like L’Oreal USA For Women In Science are so important. We need to continue to support women across all industries, especially in science, technology, engineering, and math, the STEM fields that are driving the modern economy,” stated FCC Commissioner, Jessica Rosenworcel.

This year’s awards recognized and supported the following post-doctoral female scientists for their pivotal scientific research:

Arpita Bose, Harvard University, Microbiologist; Luisa Whittaker-Brooks, Princeton University , Chemical and Biological Engineering; Anisa Salim Ismail, Princeton University, Molecular Biology; Robin Evans Stanley, National Institutes of Health, Biochemistry; Mary Caswell Stoddard, Harvard University, Evolutionary Biologist and Ornithologist.

Each Fellow received up to $60,000 to support their post-doctoral research. In addition to awarding the grants, the program also offered the Fellows professional development workshops facilitated by the program’s partner, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and helped them build networks with accomplished female leaders in corporate, academic, government, and scientific fields.

In the picture above (From Left to Right): Frederic Roze, President & CEO- L’Oreal USA; Suzie Davidowitz- Senior Vice President- L’Oreal USA; Arpita Bose, Harvard University- Microbiologist; Anisa Ismail, Princeton University-Molecular Biology; Jessica Rosenworcel- FCC Commissioner; Mary Caswell Stoddard, Harvard University- Evolutionary Biologist and Ornithologist; Robin Evans Stanley, National Institutes of Health- Biochemistry; Luisa-Whittaker Brooks, Princeton University- Chemical and Biological Engineering; Shirley Malcom- Head of Directorate of Education and Human Resource Program.

Support RMN News Service for Independent Fearless Journalism

In today’s media world controlled by corporates and politicians, it is extremely difficult for independent editorial voices to survive. Raman Media Network (RMN) News Service has been maintaining editorial freedom and offering objective content for the past more than 12 years despite enormous pressures and extreme threats. In order to serve you fearlessly in this cut-throat world, RMN News Service urges you to support us financially with your donations. You may please click here and choose the amount that you want to donate. Thank You. Rakesh Raman, Editor, RMN News Service.

RMN News

Rakesh Raman