Thomson Reuters Predicts 2014 Nobel Laureates

Thomson Reuters Predicts 2014 Nobel Laureates
Thomson Reuters Predicts 2014 Nobel Laureates

The Intellectual Property & Science business of Thomson Reuters, a leading company in intelligent information for businesses and professionals, announced its 2014 “Nobel-class” Citation Laureates on Thursday.

The annual Thomson Reuters Citation Laureates study mines scientific research citations to identify the most influential researchers in the fields of chemistry, physics, medicine and economics.

The complete list of the 2014 Nobel predictions includes 27 researchers representing 27 distinct academic and research organizations across nine different countries.

“Scientific literature citations are one of the greatest dividends of a researcher’s intellectual investment,” said Basil Moftah, president of Thomson Reuters IP & Science. “Our aggregation and analysis of citation information provides unique insight into individuals contributing highly impactful work and enables us to identify candidates likely to receive a Nobel Prize.”

The 2014 Thomson Reuters Citation Laureates by Nobel Prize category are:


James E. Darnell, Jr.

Vincent Astor Professor Emeritus, Laboratory of Molecular Cell Biology, Rockefeller University

New York, NY USA


Robert G. Roeder

Arnold and Mabel Beckman Professor, Laboratory of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Rockefeller University

New York, NY USA


Robert Tjian

Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Structural Biology, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California Berkeley, and President, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Berkeley, CA, and Chevy Chase, MD USA

For fundamental discoveries concerning eukaryotic transcription and gene regulation

David Julius

Morris Herzstein Chair in Molecular Biology and Medicine,

Professor and Chair of Physiology, University of California San Francisco

San Francisco, CA USA

For elucidating molecular mechanisms of pain sensation

Charles Lee

Professor and Scientific Director of the Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine

Farmington, CT USA


Stephen W. Scherer

Senior Scientist and Director, The Centre for Applied Genomics, The Hospital for Sick Children, Professor and Director, McLaughlin Centre, University of Toronto



Michael H. Wigler

Professor and Head, Mammalian Cell Genetics Section, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Cold Spring Harbor, NY USA

For their discovery of large-scale copy number variation and its association with specific diseases


Charles L. Kane

Class of 1965 Endowed Term Chair Professor of Physics, University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, PA USA


Laurens W. Molenkamp

Professor of Physics and Chair of Experimental Physics, University of Wurzburg

Wurzburg, GERMANY


Shoucheng Zhang

J.G. Jackson and C.J. Wood Professor of Physics, Stanford University

Stanford, CA USA

For theoretical and experimental research on the quantum spin Hall effect and topological insulators

James F. Scott

Director of Research, Department of Physics, University of Cambridge

Cambridge, UK


Ramamoorthy Ramesh

Professor, Physics and MSE, and Associate Lab Director for Energy Technologies, University of California Berkeley

Berkeley, CA USA


Yoshinori Tokura*

Director, RIKEN Center for Emergent Matter Science, and Professor, Department of Applied Physics, The University of Tokyo, Saitama and Tokyo, JAPAN

For their pioneering research on ferroelectric memory devices (Scott) and new multiferroic materials (Ramesh and Tokura).

*Tokura was previously named a Citation Laureate in 2002.

Peidong Yang

S. K. and Angela Chan Distinguished Chair in Energy, Department of Chemistry, Materials Science and Engineering, University of California Berkeley, Kavli Energy Nanoscience Institute, and Materials Science Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Berkeley, CA USA

For his contributions to nanowire photonics including the creation of first nanowire nanolaser


Charles T. Kresge

Chief Technology Officer, Saudi Aramco, Dhahran



Ryong Ryoo

Director, Center for Nanomaterials and Chemical Reactions, Institute for Basic Science and Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)



Galen D. Stucky

E. Khashoggi Industries, LLC Professor in Letters and Science, University of California Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara, CA USA

For design of functional mesoporous materials

Graeme Moad

Chief Research Scientist, CSIRO

Clayton, Victoria, AUSTRALIA


Ezio Rizzardo


Clayton, Victoria, AUSTRALIA


San H. Thang

Chief Research Scientist, CSIRO

Clayton, Victoria, AUSTRALIA

For development of the reversible addition-fragmentation chain transfer (RAFT) polymerization process

Ching W. Tang

Professor of Chemical Engineering and Bank of East Asia Professor, Institute for Advanced Study, University of Rochester, and Chair Professor in the Departments of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Chemistry, and Physics, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Rochester, NY USA and Hong Kong, CHINA


Steven Van Slyke

Chief Technology Officer, Kateeva

Menlo Park, CA USA

For their invention of the organic light emitting diode


Philippe M. Aghion

Robert C. Waggoner Professor of Economics, Harvard University

Cambridge, MA USA


Peter W. Howitt

Lyn Crost Professor Emeritus of Social Sciences and Professor Emeritus of Economics, Brown University

Providence, RI USA

For contributions to Schumpeterian growth theory

William J. Baumol

Professor of Economics and Harold Price Professor of Entrepreneurship, New York University

New York, NY USA


Israel M. Kirzner

Emeritus Professor of Economics, New York University

New York, NY USA

For their advancement of the study of entrepreneurism

Mark S. Granovetter

Joan Butler Ford Professor and Chair of Sociology, and Joan Butler Ford Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences, Stanford University

Stanford, CA USA

For his pioneering research in economic sociology

Thomson Reuters is the world’s leading source of intelligent information for businesses and professionals.

RMN News

Rakesh Raman