India Govt Introduces New GST System of Tax Returns

Nirmala Sitharaman (file photo) Photo: PIB
Nirmala Sitharaman (file photo) Photo: PIB

The Central GST and State GST authorities organized a nationwide GST (Goods and Services Tax) Stakeholder Feedback Diwas on Saturday (December 7) in 125 cities across the country where over 7,500 trade associations and stakeholders participated in the programme.

The event was organized to take on-the-spot response to the new GST Returns return form which will be made mandatory from 1st April 2020. According to a government statement, the programme was widely welcomed by GST stakeholders and tax professionals.

The Finance Minister of India Nirmala Sitharaman had directed the CGST and SGST authorities to organize a nationwide interaction with stakeholders on 7th December 2019 in order to get a first-hand feedback on the new GST Returns that are proposed to be rolled out from 1st April 2020.

The government officers explained the new GST Returns and encouraged the participants to themselves upload these Returns (ANX-1 and ANX-2) and give feedback in regard to the ease of compliance, uploading, deficiencies, and improvements, if any.

The statement added that the focus was on assessing the ease of compliance and uploading of these new returns so that the taxpayers and trader do not face any difficulty when the returns are made mandatory.

Support RMN News Service for Independent Fearless Journalism

In today’s media world controlled by corporates and politicians, it is extremely difficult for independent editorial voices to survive. Raman Media Network (RMN) News Service has been maintaining editorial freedom and offering objective content for the past more than 12 years despite enormous pressures and extreme threats. In order to serve you fearlessly in this cut-throat world, RMN News Service urges you to support us financially with your donations. You may please click here and choose the amount that you want to donate. Thank You. Rakesh Raman, Editor, RMN News Service.

RMN News

Rakesh Raman