Warner Bros. Licensing Program for The Hobbit Film

Bilbo Baggins’ journey through Middle-earth resumes on Dec. 13, and Warner Bros. Consumer Products (WBCP) has teamed up with their roster of global licensees to create an array of offerings inspired by the second film of The Hobbit Trilogy, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, a production of New Line Cinema and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures (MGM).

From Academy Award-winning filmmaker Peter Jackson, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug returns fans to the world of Middle-earth and will be supported by global licensees across multiple categories, including toys, apparel, publishing and more.

Inspired by the film The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, co-master toy licensees The Bridge Direct and Vivid Group will cater to discerning fans with an assortment of detailed action figures, collectors figures, and role play accessories that promise to bring the films’ characters and epic quests to life.

Also supporting the film are global perennial favorites including LEGO, with adventure-filled building sets inspired by the film; physical effects house Weta Workshop, with replicas based off of those Weta created for the film.

The Noble Collection, with high-end collectibles; Ravensberger, with engaging puzzles; HarperCollins Publishers, with detailed companion books; Bioworld, with fun apparel for all ages; and Rubies Costume Co, with costumes, accessories and dress-up clothes; among others.

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Products inspired by the film will be available at retailers worldwide, with select offerings also available at HobbitShop.com.

In The Hobbit Trilogy, Ian McKellen returns as Gandalf the Grey, with Martin Freeman in the central role of Bilbo Baggins, and Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield.

The international ensemble cast is led by Benedict Cumberbatch, Evangeline Lilly, Lee Pace, Luke Evans, Stephen Fry, Ken Stott, James Nesbitt, and Orlando Bloom as Legolas.

The film also stars Mikael Persbrandt, Sylvester McCoy, Aidan Turner, Dean O’Gorman, Graham McTavish, Adam Brown, Peter Hambleton, John Callen, Mark Hadlow, Jed Brophy, William Kircher, Stephen Hunter, Ryan Gage, John Bell, Manu Bennett and Lawrence Makoare.

Support RMN News Service for Independent Fearless Journalism

In today’s media world controlled by corporates and politicians, it is extremely difficult for independent editorial voices to survive. Raman Media Network (RMN) News Service has been maintaining editorial freedom and offering objective content for the past more than 12 years despite enormous pressures and extreme threats. In order to serve you fearlessly in this cut-throat world, RMN News Service urges you to support us financially with your donations. You may please click here and choose the amount that you want to donate. Thank You. Rakesh Raman, Editor, RMN News Service.

RMN News

Rakesh Raman